Start page / Templates (basics) / Composition of templates / Workflows / Deleting via workflows

Deleting via a workflow

The process of deleting objects is often subject to project-specific requirements, e.g., the issue of whether dependent objects should be deleted at the same time and, if so, which ones, as well as which dependencies should prevent deletion. Therefore, we recommend that you create a project-specific workflow for deleting elements.

A workflow for deleting elements will be linked as follows:

  • In SiteArchitect, it will be linked to all the control elements for deleting elements (menu bar icons, context menu entry, Del key).
  • In ContentCreator, it will be linked to the “Delete” icon at sections and in the Media management as well as to the menu item “Delete” in the menu bar (for example menu PAGE)

For this purpose, the required workflow must be selected in the project properties in FirstSpirit ServerManager under “Options / Workflow to delete elements”.

If deletion via a workflow is configured within a project, the permissions configuration for the workflow has to be adapted. The conventional editorial permissions that are defined for a user or a group to allow deletion only apply if the permissions configuration is adapted accordingly in the workflow. See Permission assignment in SiteArchitect (→Documentation FirstSpirit SiteArchitect)

See Chapter Tutorials/Workflows/Deleting via a workflow for some examples of how to delete elements via workflows.

Deleting via a workflow in SiteArchitect

If the deletion of elements in the project has been linked to a workflow in the project properties, then the workflow can be started in SiteArchitect by using the conventional control elements for delete operations. The following control elements are available for this purpose:

  • select element and click the Del button
  • select element and select “Delete” from the context menu
  • select element and click on the icon in the tool bar

As with the multiple selection of workflows, deletion via a workflow can be run on a set of objects at once. (multiple selection see Mehrfachselektion (→Documentation FirstSpirit SiteArchitect))

Important The workflow can only be started if no workflow has ever been started on any of the highlighted objects and the user has the corresponding permissions to run the workflow. Otherwise, the corresponding control elements are deactivated.
Important The “Delete” permission is also evaluated if elements are deleted via a workflow. If a user has permission to switch the workflow but NOT to delete elements, the workflow can be started (“Delete” context menu entry is enabled), but it is not possible to delete the element. The transition that deletes the element is not shown to such users.

Deleting via a workflow in ContentCreator

If the deletion of elements in the project has been linked to a workflow in the project properties, then the workflow can be started in ContentCreator using the “Delete” icon at sections and in the Media management as well as using the menu item “Delete” in the menu bar (for example menu PAGE).

Please note that, depending on the project's configuration, workflows in ContentCreator are run in relation to a page reference. This means that the page reference constitutes the context for the workflow. If the corresponding page is also to be deleted, this has to be controlled via the script used by the workflow. It is important to pay attention to the order of the elements that are to be deleted.

Important The workflow can only be started if no workflows have ever been started on any of the highlighted objects and the user has the corresponding permissions to run the workflow.

© 2005 - 2023 Crownpeak Technology GmbH | All rights reserved. | FirstSpirit 2023.2 | Data privacy