Introduction
Introduction

Introduction

Introduction

Table of contents

Due to the application of Java, FirstSpirit is a widely platform-independent client/server system. Basically, the installation only affects the FirstSpirit Server, since the applications are either operated as a web application via a web browser (ContentCreator, Fragment Creator, ServerMonitoring) or managed via FirstSpirit Launcher (SiteArchitect, ServerManager).

An installed FirstSpirit Server has a uniform design on all operating systems due to its platform independency. Discrepancies only occur during the installation process. Here, all the files of the FirstSpirit Server, excluding a few files required for the system start, are installed in the destination directory.

System architecture

Components of the Server

FirstSpirit Server
The FirstSpirit Server itself is a Java application.

Tanuki Java Service Wrapper
The Java interpreter necessary for the operation of the server is started via the Java Service Wrapper. This Java Service Wrapper is the only platform-dependent component. The Wrapper is an application, compatible to the respective operating system and CPU architecture which monitors and controls the Java process (see Java VM and Wrapper (fs-wrapper.conf) (→Documentation for Administrators)).

Java SE Development Kit (JDK or SDK)
A Java SE Development Kit (JDK or SDK) is not provided by e-Spirit. For information on supported and recommended JDK versions for FirstSpirit see Technical requirements and recommendations (→Documentation for Administrators).

Start script
The Java Service Wrapper is started and stopped via a Shell script or a Windows system service.

From the operating system's point of view there are only 2 processes, Java and Java Wrapper, available during the runtime of the FirstSpirit Server whereas the Java process can comprise hundreds of threads.

Optionally: External relational database
For information on supported and recommended databases for FirstSpirit see Technical requirements and recommendations (→Documentation for Administrators).

Important The integrated “Apache Derby” database is not suitable for productive operation and should only be used for test purposes.

Optionally: Web server and a JSP/Servlet engine
For information on supported and recommended servlet engines / application servers for FirstSpirit see Technical requirements and recommendations (→Documentation for Administrators).

The fs-jetty.fsm module provides a JSP/servlet engine that runs as part of the FirstSpirit server in the same VM.

Important “Eclipse Jetty”, the open-source product integrated in FirstSpirit, is not suitable for productive operation and should only be used for test purposes.
For more complex configuration requirements (e.g. memory size adjustments, timeouts, number of threads per deployed application...) the use of an external web serve is recommended (especially Apache Tomcat).

FirstSpirit applications

FirstSpirit web apps can be accessed directly in the web browser:

FirstSpirit desktop apps are started via the FirstSpirit Launcher:

Client/server communication

Communication between client and server takes place via HTTP and optionally via a FirstSpirit protocol (SOCKET).

The standard value

  • for the HTTP port is 8000/tcp,
  • the port for the FirstSpirit protocol (SOCKET) is 1088/tcp.

If one of the ports has already been reserved by the operating system, another free port is automatically selected during the installation. The selected port will be written to the configuration file

  • ~FS/conf/fs-server.conf

(~FS is the installation directory of the FirstSpirit server).

Ports can also be changed manually via this configuration file after the FirstSpirit installation.

Important Most changes to the configuration file fs-server.conf require a server restart (for example after changing the port).

Authentication is required for all connections to the FirstSpirit server. This means that all web applications that communicate with the FirstSpirit server must first authenticate themselves (for further information please see Authentication of all internal connections (→Documentation for Administrators)).

Redirections are restricted for security reasons. URLs can be defined using the optional parameter allowedRedirectHosts in the configuration file fs-server.conf to which a redirect is to be allowed (for further information see JumpToServlet and Webedit ForwardAction (→Documentation for Administrators)). If an HTTP error 403 with the error cause “Forbidden request host:” occurs during access to FirstSpirit, it must be checked whether access to the FirstSpirit server with the specified host name is to be permitted in the URL and, if necessary, the corresponding host name is to be added to the allowedRedirectHosts parameter in the fs-server.conf file. Example:

allowedRedirectHosts=localhost,firstspirit,firstspirit.e-spirit.com,192.1.1.1

For more detailed information abot the client/server configuration see Communication (→Documentation for Administrators).

Supplementary documentation

Additional installation and administration instructions

© 2005 - 2020 e-Spirit AG | All rights reserved. | FirstSpirit 2020-05 | Data privacy | Imprint | Contact us

Einleitung
Einleitung

Einleitung

Einleitung

Inhaltsverzeichnis

FirstSpirit ist durch die Verwendung von Java ein weitgehend plattform-unabhängiges Client-Server-System. Die Installation betrifft im Wesentlichen nur den FirstSpirit-Server, da die Webanwendung über einen Browser bedient werden (ContentCreator, FragmentCreator, ServerMonitoring) und die FirstSpirit-Applikationen über den FirstSpirit Launcher verwaltet werden (SiteArchitect, ServerManager).

Ein installierter FirstSpirit-Server ist, aufgrund der Plattformunabhängigkeit, in der Dateisystemstruktur auf allen Betriebssystemen einheitlich aufgebaut. Unterschiede treten nur während des Ablaufs der Installation auf. Hierbei werden alle Dateien des FirstSpirit-Servers, bis auf einige wenige zum Systemstart notwendige, in das Zielverzeichnis installiert.

Technische Voraussetzungen und Empfehlungen

Es gelten die Technische Voraussetzungen und Empfehlungen (→Dokumentation für Administratoren) für FirstSpirit.

Systemarchitektur

Serverkomponenten

FirstSpirit-Server
Der FirstSpirit-Server ist eine Java-Anwendung.

Tanuki Java Service Wrapper
Der für den Betrieb des Servers notwendige Java-Interpreter wird über den Java Service Wrapper gestartet. Der Java Service Wrapper ist die einzige plattformabhängige Komponente. Der Wrapper ist eine Anwendung, passend zum jeweiligen Betriebssystem und der CPU-Architektur, die den Java-Prozess überwacht und steuert (siehe Java-VM und -Wrapper (fs-wrapper.conf) (→Dokumentation für Administratoren)).

Java SE Development Kit (JDK oder auch SDK)
Ein Java SE Development Kit (JDK oder auch SDK) wird von e-Spirit nicht zu Verfügung gestellt. Für Informationen zu unterstützten und empfohlenen JDK-Versionen für FirstSpirit siehe Technische Voraussetzungen und Empfehlungen (→Dokumentation für Administratoren)).

Start-Skript
Der Java Service Wrapper wird über ein Shell-Skript bzw. einen Windows-Systemdienst gestartet und gestoppt.

Aus Sicht des Betriebssystems sind während der Laufzeit des FirstSpirit-Servers nur die zwei Prozesse Java und Java-Wrapper vorhanden, wobei der Java-Prozess mehrere hundert Threads umfassen kann.

Optional: Externe, relationale Datenbank
Für Informationen zu unterstützten und empfohlenen Datenbanken für FirstSpirit siehe Technische Voraussetzungen und Empfehlungen (→Dokumentation für Administratoren).

Wichtig Die integrierte „Apache Derby“-Datenbank ist nicht für den Produktivbetrieb geeignet und sollte lediglich auf Testsystemen verwendet werden.)

Optional: Webserver sowie eine JSP/Servlet-Engine

Für Informationen zu unterstützten und empfohlenen Servlet Engines / Application Servern für FirstSpirit (siehe Technische Voraussetzungen und Empfehlungen (→Dokumentation für Administratoren)).

Über das Modul fs-jetty.fsm wird eine JSP/Servlet-Engine zur Verfügung gestellt, die als Teil des FirstSpirit-Servers in derselben VM läuft.

Wichtig Das mit FirstSpirit bereitgestellte Open-Source-Produkt „Eclipse Jetty“ ist nicht für den Produktivbetrieb geeignet und sollte lediglich für Tests verwendet werden.
Für komplexere Konfigurationsanforderungen (beispielsweise Anpassungen der Speichergröße, Timeouts, Anzahl der Threads pro deployter Anwendung...) wird die Verwendung eines externen Webservers empfohlen (Empfehlung: Apache Tomcat).

FirstSpirit-Applikationen

FirstSpirit Web Apps können direkt im Webbrowser aufgerufen werden:

FirstSpirit Desktop Apps werden über den FirstSpirit Launcher gestartet:

Client-Server-Kommunikation

Die Kommunikation zwischen Client und Server geschieht über HTTP und optional über ein FirstSpirit-eigenes Protokoll (SOCKET).

Der Standardwert

  • für den HTTP-Port ist 8000/tcp,
  • der Port für das FirstSpirit-eigene Protokoll (SOCKET) ist 1088/tcp.

Falls einer der Ports bereits vom Betriebssystem reserviert ist, wird dies während der Installation automatisch erkannt und ein anderer freier Port ausgewählt. Der ausgewählte Port wird dabei in der Konfigurationsdatei

  • ~FS/conf/fs-server.conf

eingetragen (~FS ist hier das Installationsverzeichnis für den FirstSpirit-Server).

Die Ports können nach der FirstSpirit-Installation in dieser Konfigurationsdatei auch manuell geändert werden.

Wichtig Bei den meisten Änderungen der Konfigurationsdatei fs-server.conf ist ein Neustart des Servers erforderlich (z. B. Änderung des Ports).

Für alle Verbindungen zum FirstSpirit-Server ist eine Authentifizierung erforderlich. Das bedeutet, alle Webanwendungen, die mit dem FirstSpirit-Server kommunizieren, müssen sich zuvor authentifizieren (weiterführende Informationen siehe Authentifizierung aller internen Verbindungen (→Dokumentation für Administratoren)).

Weiterleitungen werden aus Sicherheitsgründen eingeschränkt. Über den optionalen Parameter allowedRedirectHosts in der Konfigurationsdatei fs-server.conf können URLs definiert werden, zu denen eine Weiterleitung erlaubt werden soll (weiterführende Informationen siehe JumpToServlet and Webedit ForwardAction (→Dokumentation für Administratoren)). Kommt es beim Zugriff auf FirstSpirit zu einem HTTP Fehler 403 mit der Fehlerursache „Forbidden request host:“, so muss geprüft werden, ob die Zugriffe auf den FirstSpirit-Server mit dem angegebenen Hostnamen in der URL erlaubt werden sollen und gegebenenfalls in der fs-server.conf der Parameter allowedRedirectHosts um den entsprechenden Hostnamen erweitert werden. Beispiel:

allowedRedirectHosts=localhost,firstspirit,firstspirit.e-spirit.com,192.1.1.1

Für detaillierte Informationen zur Client-Server-Konfiguration siehe Communication (→Dokumentation für Administratoren).

Ergänzende Dokumentation

Ergänzende Hinweise zur FirstSpirit Installation und Administration

© 2005 - 2019 e-Spirit AG | Alle Rechte vorbehalten. | FirstSpirit 2019-11 | Datenschutz | Impressum | Kontakt