Introduction
Introduction

Introduction

Welcome to the documentation for administrators

Table of contents

The documentation for administrators describes all aspects of FirstSpirit administration as well as the required administration environments and is, therefore, exclusively aimed at administrators.

FirstSpirit provides all users, depending on their tasks, with a client which has been precisely adapted to respective requirements. Therefore, FirstSpirit offers multiple clients for varying tasks and users. Generally speaking, a distinction is made between editorial environments and administration environments. While the FirstSpirit editorial environments support the work of editors and template developers, the administration environments have been primarily designed to monitor and configure FirstSpirit.

  • FirstSpirit ServerManager: The FirstSpirit ServerManager is a Java application with a convenient, swing-based user interface which supports the FirstSpirit administrator for general, administrative FirstSpirit tasks. For example, the user interface can be used to create and configure new FirstSpirit projects. More extensive functions are possible in addition to the general tasks. The ServerManager can, e.g., be used to define users or integrate existing identity management systems, such as LDAP or Active Directory. Analogue to the SiteArchitect, the ServerManager is started and updated via Java Web Start.
  • FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring: The browser-based FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring is a web application for monitoring the FirstSpirit Server. Analogue to the ContentCreator, FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring is operated via a web browser.
  • FirstSpirit JMX-Konsole: Using Java Management Extensions (JMX) it is possible to monitor Java applications in a standardised manner. While the primary task of FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring is to manually monitor a FirstSpirit Server, the JMX Console is used for automatic monitoring and can be perfectly integrated into an existing, company-wide monitoring system, if required. In principle, the JMX Console can also be used interactively. Compared to ServerMonitoring, finer granular information is provided.

Important This document is provided for information purposes only. e-Spirit may change the contents hereof without notice. This document is not warranted to be error-free, nor subject to any other warranties or conditions, whether expressed orally or implied in law, including implied warranties and conditions of merchantability or fitness for a particular purpose. e-Spirit specifically disclaims any liability with respect to this document and no contractual obligations are formed either directly or indirectly by this document. The technologies, functionality, services, and processes described herein are subject to change without notice.

FirstSpirit architecture

(Please click twice for viewing figure in original size.)

FirstSpirit™ is a classic client/server application which is entirely based on Java and web technology. Access to the FirstSpirit Server occurs either via the FirstSpirit SiteArchitect or the FirstSpirit ContentCreator. Communication between the FirstSpirit-Client and the FirstSpirit Server is, depending on the application scenario, either based on HTTP(S) using an application server, or on the direct application of TCP.

The live system actually provides contents to the end user. The FirstSpirit Server does not necessarily have to be connected to the live system all the time. If there is no permanent connection to the live system, all the data required by the live system is transferred during deployment, so that no direct interaction between the live system and the FirstSpirit Server is necessary.

Important FirstSpirit is not a universal “out-of-the-box” product, but continuously developed software. New functionalities and customer suggestions are constantly integrated and realised. These constant updates can only be reflected in the documentation to a limited degree. This may result in some figures in this documentation varying from the current FirstSpirit view. Please do not be confused by this, and just follow the instructions as normal.

Structure of this documentation

The structure of this documentation is based on the functions provided by the administration environments.

  • System Requirements and Installation: This chapter offers a brief overview of the FirstSpirit installation. Detailed, separate documentation regarding this topic can be found in the “Introduction (→Installation Instructions)”.
  • FirstSpirit Server control: This chapter describes the control of the FirstSpirit Server under Unix and Windows operating systems.
  • FirstSpirit Server configuration: The FirstSpirit Server is configured via configuration files located in the installation directory of the FirstSpirit Server. These configuration files and their parameters are described in this chapter.
  • Backing up and recovering the FirstSpirit Server: This chapter describes methods for backing up data and recovering the FirstSpirit Server.
  • Updating the FirstSpirit Server: Only a current FirstSpirit version can ensure that all FirstSpirit functions will be available and that the software will run as well and reliably as possible. We therefore recommend updating existing FirstSpirit Servers regularly and promptly. This chapter describes different options for keeping FirstSpirit up-to-date.
  • FirstSpirit web application configuration: Configuration of the FirstSpirit web applications – especially project requirements, configuration and limitations of the ContentCreator – is described in this chapter.
  • FirstSpirit start page: The FirstSpirit start page is a web application for starting the FirstSpirit editorial and administration environments.
  • FirstSpirit ServerManager: This chapter describes the project-wide functions which can be called via the ServerManager menu bar. The FirstSpirit ServerManager supports the general, administrative FirstSpirit tasks of the FirstSpirit administrator.
  • FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring: The browser-based FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring is used to monitor the FirstSpirit Server and displays current operating parameters (e.g. number of users, memory load).
  • FirstSpirit JMX Console: Using Java Management Extensions (JMX) it is possible to automatically monitor Java applications. The JMX Console can be perfectly integrated into existing, company-wide monitoring, if required.
  • Secure deployment via rsync and ssh: Combined utilisation of the external service programs rsync and ssh is recommended for deployment via unsecured Internet connections or networks with low bandwidth.
  • User permission configuration: This chapter outlines the mechanisms for user permission assignment and permission check provided by FirstSpirit and their precise application.

Supplementary documentation

© 2005 - 2020 e-Spirit AG | All rights reserved. | FirstSpirit 2020-06 | Data privacy | Imprint | Contact us

Einführung
Einführung

Einführung

Willkommen zur Dokumentation für Administratoren

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Die Dokumentation für Administratoren beschreibt alle Aspekte zur Administration von FirstSpirit und die erforderlichen Administrationsanwendungen und richtet sich daher ausschließlich an Administratoren.

FirstSpirit stellt allen Anwendern, abhängig von ihren Aufgaben, eine exakt auf die jeweiligen Bedürfnisse angepasste Anwendung zur Verfügung. FirstSpirit bietet damit also mehrere Anwendungen für unterschiedliche Aufgaben und Benutzer an.

Die hier beschriebenen Anwendungen sind primär auf die Überwachung und Konfiguration von FirstSpirit zugeschnitten.

  • FirstSpirit ServerManager: Der FirstSpirit ServerManager ist eine Java-Anwendung mit einer komfortablen Swing-Benutzungsoberfläche, die den FirstSpirit-Administrator bei allgemeinen, administrativen Aufgaben rund um FirstSpirit unterstützt. Über die Oberfläche können beispielsweise neue FirstSpirit-Projekte angelegt und konfiguriert werden. Neben den allgemeinen Aufgaben sind jedoch auch weiterreichende Funktionen möglich. Beispielsweise kann der ServerManager zur Benutzerdefinition bzw. zur Anbindung bereits vorhandener Identity-Management-Systeme, wie z. B. LDAP oder Active-Directory, verwendet werden. Analog zum SiteArchitect wird der ServerManager über den FirstSpirit Launcher gestartet und aktualisiert.
  • FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring: Das browserbasierte FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring ist eine Webapplikation, die zur Überwachung des FirstSpirit-Servers dient. Mit ihrer Hilfe können aktuelle Betriebsparameter wie Speicherauslastung, Benutzeranzahl u.v.m. angezeigt werden. Das FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring wird analog zum ContentCreator über einen Webbrowser bedient.
  • FirstSpirit JMX-Konsole: Mithilfe der Java Management Extensions (JMX) ist es möglich, Java-Anwendungen auf einheitliche Weise zu überwachen. Während das FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring primär auf die manuelle Überwachung eines FirstSpirit-Servers abzielt, dient die JMX-Konsole zur automatischen Überwachung und integriert sich optimal in ein ggf. bereits vorhandenes, unternehmensweites Monitoring. Grundsätzlich kann die JMX-Konsole aber auch interaktiv verwendet werden. Insgesamt werden im Vergleich zum ServerMonitoring feingranularere Informationen zur Verfügung gestellt.

FirstSpirit-Architektur

(Für Anzeige in Originalgröße bitte 2x klicken.)

FirstSpirit™ ist eine klassische Client-Server-Anwendung, die komplett auf Java- und Webtechnologie basiert. Der Zugriff auf den FirstSpirit-Server erfolgt entweder über den FirstSpirit SiteArchitect oder über den FirstSpirit ContentCreator. Die Kommunikation zwischen Client und Server basiert, je nach Einsatzszenario, entweder auf HTTP(S) unter Verwendung eines Application-Servers oder auf der direkten Verwendung von TCP.

Das Live-System übernimmt die eigentliche Auslieferung von Inhalten an den Endbenutzer. Der FirstSpirit-Server muss dazu nicht zwangsläufig immer in Verbindung zum Live-System stehen. Besteht keine dauerhafte Verbindung zum Live-System, werden alle vom Live-System benötigten Daten im Rahmen der Veröffentlichung (Deployment) übertragen, so dass keine direkte Interaktion des Live-Systems mit dem FirstSpirit-Server notwendig ist.

Wichtig FirstSpirit ist kein universelles „out-of-the-box“-Produkt, sondern eine Software, die sich in ständiger Entwicklung befindet. Es werden kontinuierlich neue Funktionalitäten eingebunden und Kundenanregungen verwirklicht. Diesem ständigen Aktualisierungsprozess kann die Dokumentation nur in begrenztem Umfang gerecht werden. So ist es möglich, dass aufgrund geringer Zeitverzögerungen einige Abbildungen in dieser Dokumentation von der aktuellen Ansicht in FirstSpirit abweichen. Lassen Sie sich davon nicht verwirren und folgen Sie der Anleitung wie gewohnt.

Gliederung dieser Dokumentation

Die Gliederung dieser Dokumentation orientiert sich an den Funktionen, die durch die Administrationsumgebungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

  • Systemvoraussetzungen und Installation: In diesem Abschnitt wird ein kurzer Überblick über die Installation von FirstSpirit gegeben. Eine ausführliche, gesonderte Dokumentation zu diesem Thema befindet sich in der „Einleitung (→Installationsanleitung)“.
  • Steuerung des FirstSpirit-Servers: In diesem Abschnitt wird die Steuerung des FirstSpirit-Servers unter Unix- und Windows-Betriebssystemen erläutert.
  • Konfiguration des FirstSpirit-Servers: Die Konfiguration des FirstSpirit-Servers erfolgt über Konfigurations-Dateien, die sich im Installationsverzeichnis des FirstSpirit-Servers befinden. Die Beschreibung der Konfigurationsdateien und ihrer Parameter befindet sich in diesem Abschnitt.
  • Sichern und Wiederherstellen des FirstSpirit-Servers: In diesem Abschnitt werden Verfahren zur Datensicherung (Backup) und Wiederherstellung (Recovery) des FirstSpirit-Servers vorgestellt.
  • Aktualisierung des FirstSpirit-Servers: Nur mit einer aktuellen FirstSpirit-Version kann gewährleistet werden, dass alle FirstSpirit-Funktionen verfügbar sind und die Software möglichst stabil und performant betrieben werden kann. Daher wird ein regelmäßiges, zeitnahes Update von bestehenden FirstSpirit-Servern empfohlen. Dieses Abschnitt zeigt einige Möglichkeiten auf, FirstSpirit immer auf dem neuesten Stand zu halten.
  • Konfiguration der FirstSpirit Webanwendungen: Die Konfiguration der FirstSpirit-Webanwendungen – insbesondere die Projektvoraussetzungen, Konfiguration und Einschränkungen des ContentCreator – wird in diesem Abschnitt beschrieben.
  • FirstSpirit Startseite: Die FirstSpirit Startseite ist eine Webanwendung zum Starten der FirstSpirit-Anwendungen.
  • FirstSpirit ServerManager: Das Abschnitt beschreibt projektübergreifende Funktionen, die über die Menüleiste des ServerManagers aufgerufen werden können. Der FirstSpirit ServerManager unterstützt den FirstSpirit-Administrator bei allgemeinen, administrativen Aufgaben rund um FirstSpirit.
  • FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring: Das browserbasierte FirstSpirit ServerMonitoring dient zur Überwachung des FirstSpirit-Servers und zeigt aktuelle Betriebsparameter an (z. B. Benutzeranzahl, Speicherauslastung).
  • FirstSpirit JMX-Konsole: Mithilfe der Java Management Extensions (JMX) ist es möglich, Java-Anwendungen automatisch zu überwachen. Die JMX-Konsole kann optimal in ein ggf. bereits vorhandenes, unternehmensweites Monitoring integriert werden.
  • Sichere Veröffentlichung über rsync und ssh: Für das Deployment über ungesicherte Internetverbindungen oder Netze mit geringer Bandbreite empfiehlt sich die Verwendung einer Kombination aus den externen Dienstprogrammen rsync und ssh.
  • Konfiguration von Benutzerrechten: Im Rahmen des Abschnitts werden die von FirstSpirit zur Verfügung gestellten Mechanismen zur Benutzer-Rechtevergabe und -Rechteprüfung beschrieben und ihr konkreter Einsatz skizziert.

Ergänzende Dokumentation

© 2005 - 2020 e-Spirit AG | Alle Rechte vorbehalten. | FirstSpirit 2020-09 | Datenschutz | Impressum | Kontakt